Home > Uncategorized > A Few Games to Consider

A Few Games to Consider

Over the past week I have supported Steam and the games they offer and have compiled a list of games that anyone interested should take a look at.

With the holidays over and gifts in use, me with a new 23″ HD monitor to test all my games out on, it’s time to find some new games.  Since most games didn’t come out around the holiday season this year, I looked at a few that I overlooked at first, most of which I was very happy with.  I’m getting into the smaller Indie games.

Here’s my list of games to try:

  • Braid
  • Osmos
  • Torchlight
  • Trine

Summaries after the jump…

All of these games are fairly small and cheap, but well worth it.

First, let’s take a look at Braid (website).  This game really blew my mind.  As a platform-puzzle game, they hit a home run, on the same level as Portal.  The entire concept is that you manipulate the flow of time to solve puzzles that involve…retrieving puzzle pieces that, when you collect them all from a world, you solve the puzzle.  Simple right?  Wrong.  Each world introduces a new mechanic making it more difficult to solve.  If you watch the video on the website, you get a pretty fair idea of how complicated each world is in it’s own way.  The last level is a particular favorite of mine, but I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you.  For only $9.99 on Steam I highly suggest buying this game, for hours of brain-busting entertainment.  However, if you’re unsure, Steam does have a free demo available.  Overall, I give this game a 10/10.

Next, lets take a look at Osmos (website).  This game provides a very ambient mood (and soundtrack) and is one of those games you play when you don’t feel like playing anything else (Left 4 Dead 2 or Team Fortress 2 for example), yet still somewhat challenging in it’s own way.  Also $9.99 on Steam, and also has a free demo available, I give this game a 8.5/10.

Up next, we have Torchlight (website).  Talk about right game at the right time.  If you’re one of those people excited for Diablo 3, yet bored of playing Diablo 2, this game is perfect for you.  Only 3 classes to choose from and only single-player, Torchlight is still very fun.  Who says there’s such a thing as “overkill?”  Using WAY too much mana and annihilating a mass of enemies is what makes this game superb.  The best part is that each class does it in his/her own way.  You also get a pet that will run to town for you when your pack is full so you can keep smashing zombies to bits…zombits.  Available on Steam for $19.99, and of course a free demo, I recommend this game for those of you who just can’t wait for Blizzard to finish Diablo 3.  9/10.

Lastly, we have Trine (website).  The reason I decided to get this game was because my friend actually got it as a gift for Christmas, and kept mentioning how fun it was, so, naturally I decided to give it a go.  Boy was I surprised.  I felt like a kid again getting told a bedtime story, but living it at the same time.  The story is so generic but it still entertains you because of all the mechanics you have to use and pay attention to.  You play as a Wizard, a Thief, and a Knight that have been bound together by an artifact called the “Trine.”  Also available on Steam for $19.99 and naturally a free demo, I give this one a 9/10.

Hopefully this list has inspired some of you to try some small Indie games, if not, “non-mainstream” games.  I know I’ll be paying attention to them from now on.

Until next time, happy gaming!

-The Phaze

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

